Private companies to provide water to 1,345 govt schools

                    As many as 1,345 government schools in 38 mandals in the district would get running water. At present, government schools are facing water scarcity for running water in toilets, bath rooms and for washing purpose. To overcome the issue, District Collector, K Dhanunjaya Reddy took up initiative by involving Rajiv Vidya Mission (RVM) and Education Department officials. The officials have selected 39 private industrial managements in the district and allotted certain number of government schools to them to provide water to them.

Noted private industrial units, Dr Reddy's Labs, Trimex Sands, Concast Ferro-alloys, Vamsadhara Paper Mill, Nagarjuna Agri-Chemicals, Aurobindo Pharma, Andhra Organics, Parry Sugars, Varam Power Project, Transworld Garnet and other 29 industrial and corporate companies have been entrusted the duty under Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) scheme. 
The 39 industrial and corporate units would provide water facility in 1,345 schools covering all the mandals with Rs 10 crore fund. As a first step, the company managements have initiated survey on Thursday on required facilities in the schools in Srikakulam and Gara mandals. 
District administration directed the units to finish the survey works by 31 March of next year. With the water facilities, toilets, bath rooms and wash basins would be used from next academic year. Schools selected for water supply facility with mandals: Santhabommali- 88 schools, Srikakulam- 82 schools, Kotabommali-77 schools, Amudalavalasa- 52, Polaki-51 schools and Kanchili - 46 schools. 
`We have identified that toilets and washing rooms remained unused in most of schools due to lack of water. To overcome the problem, we proposed funds from private companies under CSR scheme for which District Collector approved,' RVM project officer (PO) S Trinadha Rao told. 'We are providing funds with pleasure for schoolswhere poor students are studying and it is a good service towards society' opined Managing Director (MD) of Varam Power Plant.